5 Reasons Why I’m Ready to Just go to College Already

I know, I know, when all I talk about is college, I get kind of boring. There’s two categories of second semester high school seniors: those who want to get to college already, and those who SO aren’t ready. I fall into the first category, and I think I have some pretty valid reasons why.

title vertical.jpg

1. High school feels like prison

img_2267

I’m not even kidding, my high school looks like prison. Between the white brick walls, and the locked doors that cannot be opened unless someone buzzes you in, I might as well have committed a crime. It doesn’t just LOOK like prison, though. It FEELS like prison.

You have to have permission to go to the bathroom, or leave the room for anything. I’m 18. I think I’m responsible enough to go to the bathroom, but apparently not.

Speaking of responsibility, apparently they don’t trust us to use the internet without accessing distracting websites because SO MANY websites are blocked. I don’t know about your school, but at mine, you can’t access YouTube, Netflix or a lot of other things on a lot of computers, while connected to certain wifi networks.

They keep us on a highly regulated schedule and it’s BORING. I have to imagine a prison schedule is just as boring.

2. High school, whether it wants to or not, is one big negative vibe

Between the many popularity contests, the cliques, and the gossip, there’s so much negativity swimming around. I know that sounds so cliche, but every day I see and hear so many negative things and personally, I’m so over it.

I know college isn’t one big positive vibe, but it I have to believe that it’s better than high school.

3. High school has nothing left to offer me

I know this sounds kind of “better than thou,” but I mean it. I’m ready for the freedom my legally adult status gives me, but high school doesn’t. I’m ready to learn what I want to learn and be responsible enough to go to class and get good grades without rules, regulations, and adults floating over my shoulder.

4. I’m ready to move on to the next chapter of my life

new chapter.jpg

I think I can go ahead and declare this chapter of my life over. High school has been great, but I think I’ll like college even more. I had some great experiences and great opportunities which I am SO grateful for. But, I’m ready for the next chapter and all it has to offer.

5. College just looks so fun

Lastly, I think most people will agree that college just looks fun!

Carrier_Dome.JPG

I’m going to Syracuse University and I’ve been watching the YouTubers, Margot Lee and Above The Block who both attend Syracuse. I love watching their videos and seeing what college life at SU is like; it looks like so much fun and I can’t wait!

 

I know they tell you to cherish the last months of high school, but if you’re like me, you’re counting down. Six more months!

Photo Creds: 1, 2, 3

XOXO Anna

Leave a Reply

