Top Five Friday | #6 |what’s on my dorm shopping list?

Happy Friday, friends! I am in the final stretch of my senior year of high school and the college prep has begun. I have compiled a list of all the things I need for college next year (I’ll do a seperate post on that) and have started purchasing the necessities. I’m trying to start with the most important things and go from there, so here are the top five things on my dorm shopping list.

top five dorm

Duvet cover and insert

duvet

Syracuse is cold and while the dorms do have heating, I decided a duvet made more sense than just a comforter. My roommate and I decided on our color scheme (Navy blue, and pink, with gray and white as neutrals) and decided on gray duvets. I found this one at Bed Bath and Beyond (It shows up in white on the website, but I got gray because I’ll totally ruin the white). I wanted something relatively plain so I can dress it up with pillows and the reviews said it was soft and durable which is always good.

Humidifier

humidifier

Especially when you have allergies like me, a humidifier is key in a dorm room, especially if it’s older. I found this really cute one in the nursery section of Best Buy (I know it sounds ridiculous, but bear with me) that looks like an Elephant. The best part? The steam or whatever substance a humidifier emits comes out of the trunk! Hopefully some of you will find that as exciting as I do.

Mattress pad

Dorm mattresses aren’t the most comfortable things in the world. I don’t know about you, but I want my bed to be comfortable, so I purchased one from Bed Bath and Beyond in an attempt to improve the comfort of my home away from home bed. Find a bunch of options here.

External hard drive

hard drive

This one doesn’t apply to everyone, but at least a flash drive is probably a good idea for everyone. When I visited campus, the department chair of the Broadcast and Digital Journalism major told us that we need an external hard drive to transfer work on our laptops to work on the iMacs available in the labs there. I’m not really sure why he suggested an external hard drive versus a flash drive, but I got this one that’s relatively cheap and does the job from Best Buy.

Hangers

hangers

This is kind of a no brainer, but everybody needs hangers. I recommend thin ones like these from The Container Store so you can fit as many things as possible in the tiny closet your school will provide you with.


I know there’s a ton of other things that I’ll need for my dorm, but these are the top five things I’ve gotten so far. Look out for my post coming soon with my complete college packing list.

What do you think are the most important things to get for a dorm room?

XOXO Anna

One thought on “Top Five Friday | #6 |what’s on my dorm shopping list?

Leave a Reply

